E&E RPCVs Group News

The Herald Archives now available

by Janet Lee, Editor (Emdeber 1974-76)

The Ethiopia HeraldWe are pleased to announce that past print issues of The Herald have been scanned and uploaded to the EandEherald.com website.  Many thanks to Barry Hillenbrand and Marian Haley Beil for saving these past issues and allowing them to be scanned and uploaded. Click on archives  to find back issues.

These past issues provide a wealth of information on the formation of the Ethiopia and Eritrea Returned Peace Corps Volunteers, its early players, news items on both Ethiopia and Eritrea, updates on individual Volunteers, advocacy for Peace Corps funding, annual reunions, and the affiliation with the National Council of Returned Peace Corps Volunteers, now the National Peace Corps Association. Some believed The Herald was (and is) the glue that holds our group together.

The Ethiopia Herald, predecessor to The Herald, was first published in February 1991 shortly after the formation of the Ethiopia/Eritrea Returned Peace Corps Volunteers affiliate of the National Council of Returned Peace Corps Volunteers during the 1990 Eugene RPCV Conference in Eugene, Oregon, July 1990.  Its editor was Marian Haley Beil (Debre Berhan 1962–64). The Ethiopia Herald was printed and mailed to 1,428 RPCVs at a cost of $460.00.  Dues were $35 annually and included $20 National Council membership.

During NCRPC’s Celebration of the 30th Anniversary of the Peace Corps held in Washington DC in August 1991, 80 RPCVs voted to change the name of the group to Ethiopia & Eritrea Returned Peace Corps Volunteers and the name of the newsletter to The Herald.

In February 2010, after 36 issues had been published in print, The Herald went electronic and where it still resides today.  On April 27, 2012, Marian created the E&ERPCV Facebook group, a closed group, allowing RPCVs from Ethiopia and Eritrea to immediately post news, events and items of interest to all.  It complements, but does not replace The Herald.  Members may click on the link to join Facebook.

Past and present editors of The Herald:

  • Marian Haley Beil (Debre Berhan 1962–64)
  • Hayward Allen (Harar 1962-64)
  • Barry Hillenbrand (Debre Marcos 1963–65)
  • Janet Lee (Emdeber 1974-76)



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s